Human figure

After going to life drawing sessions and noting down the key information about the human form through sketches in charcoal I went back to the studio and tried to replicate what I saw using paint. I also used this piece as a way of experimenting with skin tones and using a more textural painting technique using larger brush strokes.
I chose to do a Cholograph printing workshop as in the examples we were shown it was a good way of adding texture and depth to an image while having the same characteristics of print. I found that this workshop was really helpful at bringing my ideas onto paper, it was also a good way of pushing my work forward from sketches and detailed life drawings. Using materials such as masking tape and ripping into the card left textures I couldn’t get from painting.

One thought on “Human figure”

Leave a Reply

