Use of thread and material

The image on the right was the first material piece I did and I found that the layers of fabric connected the obvious female form to a landscape. I think by adding the black sewn outline I made the piece too obviously a human form which wasn’t something I wanted to do. Which is why in the image on the left I have made the piece less obviously human by not using any outline and zooming in on the human body to create a micro shot of the body. This is where I started concentrating on smaller areas of the body which I wasn’t comfortable with and tried to change them into something that I could enjoy.

One thought on “Use of thread and material”

Leave a Reply

