Experimenting with Porcelain

Porcelain is traditionally used as cook and dine elements within the home. I also liked the white of the clay which could reference the purity we as women are suppose to represent but I also like that this type of clay was easier to get thinner and become more fragile. The strength of the vitrified porcelain and the vaginal forms juxtaposes with the stereotypes that women are weak.

I enjoyed how the vaginal forms became almost fabric like when I was playing around with the clay. But I didn’t like how forced the forms were becoming when purposefully trying to create vaginas. So I decided to rolled the material out thinner so I would have to work faster, this caused the forms to become less forced.

 

2 thoughts on “Experimenting with Porcelain”

Leave a Reply

