Table setting – Formative Assessment

For the formative assessment I decided to lay my terracotta pieces out on a table, with a table cloth on to represent them being in the centre of the home, in a typically feminine domestic space. The piece became more of an installation with the other elements of the space also becoming important, ie. the chair, type of table cloth and the size of the table.

This layout was fairly similar to Judy Chicago’s Dinner Party. Especially as I also wanted to incorporate the fabric pieces I had been making.

After the assessment and my gap crit I decided I didn’t like the idea of it being an installation with the focal point being on the table and how the pieces were placed.

 

Leave a Reply

