Robin Schiff – Nightmare Bathroom

When I came across Schiff’s Nightmare Bathroom while researching Womanhouse (1971-72) it was the use of sand that intrigued me because of the vulnerability it has with the body. It can be easily moved showing the areas of body that you weren’t meant to see but there is still this possibility that it could be moved.

The vulnerability of the person hiding their body away and the discomfort in the face of the women is something that I find I can relate to easily, almost like your not comfortable looking at your own body, wanting to hide it away so nobody can see it.

To me it conveys the message of being forced to look at ones body, the fear of what’s below the sand. It reminds me of when I use to be forced to confront my own body.

Its also that fear of being intruded upon.

 

Leave a Reply

